links for 2009-05-13

13 Mai
  • interessante story – nicht-religiöser geht ans konservative College und berichtet seine Erfahrungen.

    "When I was living at Liberty, I had to learn how to pray. I'm back at secular college now, but I still pray almost every day. Don't get me wrong: I'm not an evangelical Christian, and I don't believe that God sits on his throne in heaven watching our requests flood into his cosmic inbox. But I do think there's value in focusing on the needs of my friends and family members, trying to empathize with them for ten or twenty minutes a day. It forces me to be aware of how lucky I am, and I really do think it motivates me to be more compassionate. As the writer Oswald Chambers says, it's not so much that prayer changes things, but that prayer changes me, and I change things."

    (tags: writing)
Kommentar verfassen

